In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work, and communicate online without any face-to-face contact with other people. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the modern era, with the advent of the internet, it has become convenient to carry out various activities online. After the recent outbreak of the COVID pandemic, a large number of people are resorting to working, shopping and networking online. Some people believe this is a positive development as it makes their lives easier, while others have a different viewpoint. This essay will shed light on both these issues and provide a final standpoint. Fortunately, the internet has made things possible which were beyond human imagination. For example, the ability to work using a computer with software inside is nothing less than a miracle. One can conduct online meetings with all those having connectivity to the internet. There are several benefits to it. One of the main advantages is the lower cost of doing business. In traditional ways, people had to travel to various locations to conduct their businesses or carry out meetings which involve a lot of costs. Whereas, some online activities like shopping are proved to be cheaper than buying from brick and mortar businesses. Also, with the help of the internet, the amount of time taken to finish the work has reduced drastically. For example, to buy clothes, one can hop on to any e-commerce website and buy them as per his/her wish. This is convenient as well as the ost-effective method in today's world. However, on the contrary, it is argued that due to increased online activities, people are becoming less social. People tend to have a shorter and very concise exchange of dialogues rather than long-duration conversations. This impacts their social skills. Moreover, due to a lack of face-to-face communication, people do not develop communication skills. In my opinion, people's ability to work, shop and communicate online is rather a boon, not a curse. Although there are some shortcomings of reduction in face-to-face communication, they are not so important. To sum up, in order to carry out daily activities such as work, shopping and communication, mankind has taken the help of information technology to make their lives easier. Although this might have resulted in a lack of social and communication skills, the positives outweigh the negatives.