Some people argue that job satisfaction is more important than job security, while others believe that they cannot always expect job satisfaction and a permanent job is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The debate whether job satisfaction or job security are more important has gained a great source of controversy from intense public and personal interests in recent decades. While a school of thought asserts that job security is more valuable, I believe that job satisfaction bestows prodigiously numerous benefits upon both people’s career and family life. Admittedly, it is understandable why many people, especially those who are the breadwinners, prioritize having a stable job. Firstly, in light of an increasingly competitive market where thousands of new graduates face unemployment annually, staying in the same job is much safer than switching jobs frequently. Because a regular paycheck provides financial assistance for their families, thereby giving people a sense of security and reducing their stress levels. Secondly, staying loyal to one job results in higher credibility which acts as an indicator of organizational commitment. Thus, employees could move up their career ladder and get promotion easily, coupled with building a long-term relationship with their co-workers. Notwithstanding the aforementioned advantages of maintaining job security, I would contend that job satisfaction should not be taken lightly. In the workplace, a sense of happiness encourages people to keep striving and innovating, they would not give up easily, which leads to better work performances and later a high income. By contrast, a stable but unrewarding job, thereby lowering work productivity and the company’s profits. From a family perspective, happy individuals are more likely to form stronger bonds with other members. For example, it has been scientifically proven that adults tend to use domestic violence such as battering or sexual abuse as a way to release stress from work. As a result, the deterioration of family relationships is inevitable. Therefore, job satisfaction can act as a positive catalyst not only for one to succeed in their chosen fields but also for one to lead a happy family life. In conclusion, people might prioritize different criteria when seeking or performing a job. I am convinced that a sense of satisfaction and fulfillment is far more important than a secured job.