Ensuring that children have regular physical exercise should be the responsibility of parents and therefore schools should not waste valuable school time having sports lessons as part of the curriculum. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, sports classes represent one of the few opportunities during which students can enjoy the benefits of regular exercise, such as preventing obesity and promoting a healthy lifestyle. My opinion is that sports lessons are the responsibility of schools and should be part of the academic curriculum because it is beneficial to one’s health and psychological development. First of all, the quality of physical exercise in an academic environment cannot be compared to exercising with family. In other words, young individuals use sports lessons to compete and have fun with their friends and classmates. As a result, physical education classes are a place where students can relax and interact with colleagues, therefore, enabling them to form social relationships and friendships. Secondly, some parents do not have the economic power to take the responsibility of regular physical exercise for their offspring. That is because extracurricular sports classes are extremely expensive for a low-income family. For example, a class of ballet may cost as much as one week of groceries, hence making it almost impossible for impoverished families to afford it. Moreover, school education is free and this gives the opportunity of enjoying sports activities to each student irrespective of his social status and family income. On the other hand, the responsibility of parents should be to encourage their children to spend time exercising during holidays and weekends. As a result, they can help their youngsters maintain a healthy lifestyle outside of school hours. For instance, family activities, such as hiking, fishing, or participating in a marathon, are excellent for preventing health problems and nutritional imbalances. To conclude, although parents are responsible for their child’s education, the main place where the children receive academic training is in schools. Personally, I believe that time is not wasted on sports lessons and that in the long run, exercising in schools help maintain the young generation’s health.