Nowadays we see an increase in social problems involving teenagers. Many people believe that it is because parents spend more time at work and less with their children. Do you agree or disagree?

Juvenile criminality has risen in the past decades, some people argue that it is mostly due to parents not looking after their children as much as they should because they are too busy with their work. In my opinion, this point of view is too simplistic and tend to forget other important social parameters causing young people to adopt offending behaviours. Most of the teenagers whose attitude is being considered as problematic are issue from low social classes. Believing that their aggressive comportment is the result of lack of parental supervision only allows us to reject the fault on the parents, moreover, it enables us not to question the way our society works. Furthermore, one problem those teenagers face is that everything around them leads them to believe that they are rejects. They grew up in an environment where they have always been told that they were not good enough; that it was for them. The issue is that their parents have been taught the same their whole life, and there are very few examples of successful people around them. Asking the parents not to transmit those fake belief to their children would be the same as asking someone in a wheelchair to stand up and walk, they are just unable to do it. to conclude, being aggressive toward the rest of society is the resultant of this. Not showing respect to the rules which does not favour them, or others who do not respect them is sadly the only way those teenagers have found to exist.