Increasing price of the petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures that you think might be effective ?

It is sometimes argued that raising the cost of fossil fuel is the most effective solution for environmental and problems on the roads these days. While I agree that this method is extremely successful in decreasing the amount of exhaust fumes that were emitted and the number of traffic congestion, I believe that there are other possible measures that have similar results. There are various reasons why raising the price of energy resource is considered to be a superior measure. To begin with, excessive exhaust fumes is the main factor that contributes to pollution and environment degradation. Therefore, escalating the price of renewable power could directly discourage citizens from purchasing and using private transports regularly. Consequently, not only the quantity of personal vehicles but also the amount of carbon dioxide will experience a decline, hence alleviate the pollution issue. Furthermore, the higher cost of the resource, the less residents driving their means of transport since the travelling cost by cars is significantly more than buses or trains, thus reduce traffic problems. For example, instead of spending 30 dollars on fuels, people are likely to pay 6 dollars for to travel by public transport such as train in order to save money. Despite the above arguments, I believe that there are other solutions that share similar effects. Firstly, the administration should introduce a regulation that declines the ticket cost to entice citizens into public transports. In fact, this method when coped with the growth of energy price could hinder the individuals from using personal vehicles effectively, results in the pollutant and traffic issues depletion. Secondly, the government can invest in researching an alternative renewable supply that could benefit the environment. For instance, hydropower, water or wind resources are expected be equivalent in productivity and fewer carbon dioxide emmision emissions compared to gasoline. As a consequence, the threat of fuels consumption as well as pollution can be alleviated. In conclusion, while increasing the nonrenewable energy cost is advantageous for certain reasons, I do not believe that it is the only method that could benefit the environment and decrease on road congestion.