The education of young people is the main priority in countries around the world. Some people believe that educating adults who cannot read or write is essential for the society and more funding should be made available for it. Do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that countries must prioritize the learning of the youth, while others opine to have societies should start funding the education of illiterate adults. I agree with the view of adult schooling and, this essay will explain the reasons to fund them. Firstly, when a person struggles with reading or writing the social impacts are profound. They may have low self-esteem or feel emotions such as shame, fear and also struggles to know their rights. For example, being illiterate, the individual would avoid situations where they ought to communicate and make decisions. Secondly, unlearned adults are more susceptible to live destitutely. In developing countries, people living in poverty are either unemployed or work in low-skilled jobs. As a result of unemployment and to make ends meet, children are sent to work, while others get involved in theft and other crimes. With the funds, these people can be sent to vocational training schools to develop skills to earn a decent living; and literacy training raising reading proficiency. Lastly, non-literate individuals, tend to have more workplace accidents, prolonged recovery period and misuse of medication. This is due to the fact, they have trouble reading and understanding safety protocols and relevant information like prescription labels and drug overdosage frequently cause serious health issues. We can ask them to repeat instructions and assess their baseline information about their health before proceeding further. In conclusion, I reiterate that it is immensely vital for adults to be literate in today's society and we must take urgent measures and invest more to educate these adults.