Some people say that young people are much more influenced by their friends than their parents or teachers. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that friends have more impact on teenagers than their guardians or mentors. I agree with the assertion because friends spend more time together and there is no generation gap between them. The primary reason for better understanding between friends is the amount of time they spend together. For example, on an average two teenagers spend around eight hours in school and four hours playing together. So, it is natural for a person to be influenced by the other persons with whom he spends most of his time. Peer pressure is another factor that encourages teenagers to copy their friends. Therefore, friends have more impact on the life of a juvenile than their parents. The second reason for this might be the generation gap. For example, a study conducted by Harvard University found that music interest plays an important role in the development of bonding among teenagers. However, due to generation gap often parents and their children have different tastes in music. This is another reason for them to enjoy the company of their friends more. Additionally, it is observed that children are reluctant to share their private stuff with their parents. As a result, parents do not get enough opportunities to influence their children. In conclusion, though many people think that parents and teachers have a greater impact on a child, I disagree with this statement. The main reasons are that young people spend minimum time with their parents and there is a generation gap between them.