In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is positive or negative situation?

Having an own property is much more important than renting in some nations. While there are several factors that caused this situation, and I believe that this is a positive trend. There are three main reasons that caused people to refer to have their own house. Firstly, having an own property is a symbol of social status. Especially in some Asian countries, people consider success as having the wealth and material possessions, and the house is the most significant symbol. If people would not have their own house, others would not believe that he/she is a successful person. Secondly, some people think that having their own house is a prerequisite for getting married. It is because having an own house is fundamental to build a family. Finally, without having their own property, people always feel like homelessness as well as lack a sense of belongs, even they can rent a place to stay. The house may terminate the lease agreement and let them move out at any time. Although having an own property required a lot of money, I think this is a positive trend. This would encourage young people to fight for their future. They will make a lot of effort to achieve this gold, thereby boosting the local economy. People have to pay for the taxes for purchasing a property, and housing developers have to build more houses to cope with the demands. Not only it can increase construction business’s income, but also help to raise a country’s fiscal revenue, therefore governments have more funds to allocate to different essential sectors, including schools, health care and public transport systems. In conclusion, there are many reasons to push people to buy their own properties in some areas. From a long-term perspective, this trend will bring more benefits.