Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Health is a fundamental right of every human being. Some people are of the opinion that each nation must provide free health services to its citizens irrespective of the cost involved. I agree with this view as it is a primary duty of the government to look after its citizen and provide them with a healthy lifestyle. To commence with, free health check-ups will be a boon to the people who cannot afford expensive medical facilities. In developing countries like India,the majority of the population comprises of below poverty line people for whom it is impossible to have access to even basic medical facilities. By introducing government subsidised dispensaries and hospitals these people can ensure a healthy lifestyle. Furthermore, it is incredible to see that organisations like UNICEF come forward to help people especially children by providing free medical vaccination to them in order to prevent them from diseases like polio. Well, it is implied that we cannot ignore the finance burden government has to handle by providing free medical assistance. Hence, the financial status of any country needs to be considered before making such decisions, as medical treatments for the diseases like cancer, kidney transplant can cost a fortune to them and won't be possible for underdeveloped countries to provide it for free. Hence, for such countries,only the poorest people need to e gave such treatments for free, from the est of the citizens they may charge a nominal fee. But by providing basic routine healthcare for free we can curb the spread of major diseases. For example, Tuberculosis is curable if diagnosed in initial stages.