News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

News has had always impacted people for ages, whether it's digital or in the form of printouts. Editing the news has always been a hot topic as presenting a case wrongly can lead to heated arguments or riots. In this essay, I will shed light on the kind of information reported to people. Numerous things are dependent upon the kind of news we hear. By giving full authority to reporters, it is common to see bias nowadays. Factors such as money and political power play a vital role in the daily media feed we read or hear. For example, recent US elections have been a debatable topic that resulted in dividing the country, which is sad because, during the presidency of Donald Trump, most of the news channels and papers were only interested in showing the bad news only. The key media outlets changed how they portrayed their news to the people when opposing candidates stood in the elections. Thus, bad news divides people. On the other hand, there should be optimistic news as it influences people's behaviour and minds. A survey was done at Harvard University, for instance, on people being shown controversial news every day for two weeks resulted in frustrating patterns among people. People should be shown positive news as it will help boost the country's confidence and economy. Canadians spend a hefty amount of money on holidays such as Canada day compared to the rest of the year. Consequently, positive news influences people. To conclude, all kinds of information need to be broadcasted so that people should not be kept far away from reality. Although reporting good news will definitely yield positive results.