Today people are living in a throwaway society where they use things for a short time only and then throw them away. What are the causes of this and what problems can it lead to?

At present, the world is experiencing a new trend, where usage of materials has become short-lived, as well as more people,are adopting the use-and-throw policy. Affordable prices and marketing are the major reasons for this, exacerbating the existing environment pollution. Reduced costs are one of the primary causes of why people are excited to shop for popular items in the market. Introduction of large-scale production has led to lowering manufacturing costs, hence making products affordable for the buyers. Furthermore, marketing influences consumers to buy the latest arrivals, using engaging ads. With the changing season, a new item becomes the in-demand product, and individuals get attracted too for the latest catalogue, thereby discarding the old one. To illustrate, Myntra, an e-commerce website, has a sale on selected items every day and target audience is notified about the same, due to which website's users place orders, taking advantage of the affordable prices, consequently getting rid of older and redundant items in their possession. This trend is a leading cause of environmental pollution. Already, we do not have proper disposable mechanisms for handling the daily generated waste in place, and this additional tons of garbage created by the above-mentioned practice is just making the situation worse. For example, millions of humans use plastic bottles for drinking water or sodas, that are majorly used once and are tossed in a bin after one use. This plastic waste has been lying in the water bodies for decades now, which is extremely hazardous for marine life. In the long run, this trash will destroy the ecosystem of the planet. To conclude, cheaper prices and marketing are the primary reasons for abreast throwaway culture. This will become a bane for the environment by polluting it beyond repair.