In the past, most people worked for small businesses, while more people now work for large businesses. What are the advantages and disadvantages of working for large businesses?

Present-day workers often opt to pursue careers with well-known businesses as opposed to working for small-time businesses such as in the past. Big enterprises offer job security, although life in the workplace tends to be more stressful. The advantages often relate to professional stability. Large businesses rely heavily on the number of their front-liners and without them, their business will suffer, thereby lessening the maximum potential income they can get. Due to this, employees do not need to worry about losing their jobs. At the same time, career advancement is almost always a possibility when working for large companies. The more employees a company has, the more managers will be needed to supervise the overall operation of the businesses and this opens up doors for workers who want to advance their careers. A report from Oxford University in March 2020 revealed that established businesses in the UK have 38% managerial roles as compared to 15%, from start-up companies. Contrarily, stress is the primary disadvantage of working for such companies. Firstly, due to the demands of their responsibilities, employees are often forced to work within strict schedules and because of this, they often do not get enough chances to spend time on holidays or family vacations. Secondly, to keep up with the growing demands from their consumers, big businesses often have demanding managers who constantly drive their employees beyond their limitations. Their high expectations take a toll on the mental and physical health of the workers, which have long-term negative repercussions on their overall well-being. In conclusion, job stability and career growth are extremely attractive to modern-day workers, although they would need to determine first if they can put up with the high level of pressure in the workplace. Whether it is a trade-off that they are willing to take, is a question only they can answer.