There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form os assessment?

Nowadays, there are a growing trend in evaluating pupils through exams, instead of a continual process of evaluation. This essay will highlight some of the benefits and drawbacks of tests as a way of examination. First and foremost, exams are a pratical way to review subjects and test the student’s knowledge. This is because they work in a related time with the contents that are being studied: after a teacher presents some themes, pupils are challenged to answering questions about them. It is a way of pushing pupils to study, because if they do not, they will fail in the exam. As a result, this type of examination is a funcional way to develop their knowledge and master different contents. However, the pressure that exams can cause in students is a issue. Generally, they feel very stressful and anxious about their tests, and this can negatively influence their results. Consequently, this type of evaluation could be unfair to students, because it does not take into account these emotional aspects that can disturb them. Besides, exams do not follow the progress of students, they just check their knowledge at an especific moment. Therefore, this can be bad for the student’s confidence, because if they take a bad score, they might think that they failed, rather than also be aware of all the progress that they did in learning. In conclusion, although exams are a pratical way of evalueting pupils, it is important to consider that they can also harm some students with stress and ansiety, and such feelings can interfer in their results.