Some people believe that the time spent on television and computer games can be valuable for children. Others believe that this has negative effects on child. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that PC gaming and television are beneficial for adolescents, while others advocate that they are detrimental. This essay will present both views of this contentious argument and argue why I believe parents' supervision is crucial. Advocates believe that television and computer games yield positive effects on young children. Firstly, they emphasise that these pastimes could have a tremendous educational impact on young people. There are various tv channels that offer diverse programmes that go beyond the school's curriculum, and children are attracted to watch and merrily expand their knowledge. My nephew, for instance, views the Discovery Channel to experience the lives of the Amazon tribes. Another benefit is that children can develop cognitive abilities. Online games such as the Civilisations, require to build an empire and battle to survive, and when played in groups, users have to communicate and collaborate to achieve their goals. As such, spending more time on computer games will assist these young group to cultivate essential problem-solving and teamwork skills that are necessary for their adult life. Nevertheless, others highlight the worry impacts of digital gaming and television on young people. Their primary concern is health. Adolescents face difficulty with moderation and they can watch television for 6 hours on end. This will lead them to breed a sedentary lifestyle which results in obesity, diabetes and posture problems. Additionally, opponents contend that spending lengthy hours on screens will stall their social skill development. Games such as Suki are also played solo and the lack of engagement might lead them to be self-centred and less expressive. In this regard, my consent lies with this group as socialisation should be the key ability that needs to be cultivated in their early childhood. To conclude, while the educational and cognitive benefits of children playing computers and watching tv are immense, I believe that parents should strictly discipline their children from using these devices as their health conditions may deteriorate and they might not be able to learn social skills.