Some people believe that children of all ages should have extra responsibilities. Others believe that, outside of school, children should be free to enjoy life. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Activities outside of school are great for kids to explore the world. Some could argue that children should be forced to do more works while others think they would do whatever they want to do after school time. In my opinion, taking more responsibilities would benefit our children wisely in their life. On the one hand, freely participating in after-school activities can be entertaining for students but it might not be good in some way. In fact, most children are more likely to go out with friends or participate in sports activities than doing housework or helping neighbours. Statistics show that without diversity in activities, children may not be able to learn essential qualities in life such as sympathy or compassion. As a result, children would lack the necessary skills in life. On the other hand, taking on extra responsibilities outside of school hours can help children learn many crucial skills. Firstly, participating in activities that help others make children value life better. Children will be aware of their own responsibility to the community and become better people. Secondly, taking on more responsibilities will help children explore their new abilities. Because of that, children will be more confident and more successful in life. For example, 60 per cent of school-age children in the US who involve in social activities are successful in many areas compared to children who do not participate. Thus, the more children are trusted to do things, the more successful they are. To sum up, while children can freely participate in extracurricular activities, I believe we should put more responsibility on them for their own good.