In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

In the past our grandparents used to pay for their necessities with cash, however, in the future, it’s highly likely that men and women only need to use their bank cards or mobile phones to execute any payment. I personally believe that cashless transactions will become our habit sooner or later. This could be because of improvements in our technology. Even though some folks might be reluctant to adopt this movement due to security reasons. Nowadays our society is offered by the improvement in technology to either make our financial decisions cashless or through physical money. In a way that everything needs to be fast, advanced technology such as big data and cloud storage will help to keep our finance transactions safe and faster than before. One day we will be able to pay for our groceries only within 2 minutes, which is faster than using paper-based money. Since we don’t need to calculate the exact amount of money and wait for the seller to give back our changes. In Indonesia, research found that in 2023 almost 40% of people aged 24-35 prefer to pay for their lunch through debit card and mobile banking. However, some of us might be reluctant to give up the cash because of high crime rates related to applying online payment. Folk could find that executing a financial transaction using actual money will provide a sense of security, since the actual exchanging of money happens in front of their eyes. Making no mistake apply cybercrime with online payment is skyrocketing. Unless these crimes are solved, some people will keep using coins and paper money to do the financial transactions. In conclusion, there is a high possibility that cashless payments will become a trend in the future. Support from advanced technology will make this transition smoother, nevertheless, some of us might still be reluctant due to a sense of security.