Sports events such as Formula One and other car racing events should be banned because they are unnecessary waste of money and create more pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Formula one is a big racing car event, and it has been increasingly drawing public attention over the years. Although this modality brings great benefits to our society, like the generation of jobs and leisure time to the population. Some argue that it propagates excessive pollution, besides being an unwise way of spending money. Therefore, it should be banned. I have dissenting views with this statement. In the following essay, I will be further explaining why I disagree with those. First and foremost, racing car events greatly contribute to the economy, generating direct and indirect employment. For example, a research made by the University of Michigan stated that the revenue generated by this industry last year in France accounted for over 5% of the countries total. Furthermore, watching this modality is a leisure activity for a big part of our society, and it is already intrinsic to its habits. Although there is no doubt about the excessive amount of pollution that these events generate. There are better ways to deal with this matter. Likewise, Governments should be stricter with this particular type of car companies. For example, it should only allow a reasonable amount of greenhouse emissions per car. It should require that companies separate a percentage of its profit to study newer ways of implementing cleaner energy. To conclude, racing car events greatly impact the economy besides being an excellent entertainment source to the overall population. For this reason, I restate my point of view that they should not be banned.