The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion will be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life.

Gone are the days when living and having expertise in one area was enough. In this modern era, inflation is reaching its peaks; having expertise only in one field is not enough so, people should have multiple streams of income and have the ability to learn continuously. I support the statement that a person should have various careers if something does not work out in one job. First of all, living on a single source of income has become a myth these days. Skyrocketing inflation is forcing people to live on paycheque to paycheque. With the recent boom in technology, the jobs that used to be there a couple of decades ago does not exist anymore. Ordinary people are not able to upskill themselves due to expensive education. For example, the cashier jobs at supermarkets are taken over by self-checkout machines. Hence, people should have several careers and different plans for making money. Furthermore, becoming a millionaire was a myth about two decades ago, and nowadays, people are becoming billionaires every other year. Overworking and learning continuously has become a new norm in the present era. To illustrate, people working at minimum wages in western countries might need to work at least two jobs to meet their needs. After working nine to five, people go to their second jobs to keep up with their expenses. To conclude, I firmly believe that people should have multiple careers and streams of earning money with the rise of technology. Moreover, governments can help mitigate this problem by providing affordable education and teaching people how to save and invest money.