in many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. what is the value of long school holidays? what are the arguments in favor of shorter school holidays?

In multiple countries, schools often close for a couple of months in the summer holidays due to many positive reasons, whereas some individuals opine that school holidays should be made shorter. This essay intends to examine why lengthy holiday breaks are necessary and what the potential drawbacks. First and foremost, the main purposes behind school holidays are stress relief and exploration of new pursuits. Since most pupils find education and studying overwhelming and draining, taking a long break can relieve stress, allow students to discover new interests and strengthen their relationships with their family. Moreover, because children can spend leisure time doing what they are passionate about, such as flying to a different country with their family, trying out new dishes, or researching their interests, their mental states are likely to be improved. Furthermore, this not only helps brighten their mood but also puts them in a better condition once school reopens. However, the significant disadvantage of this is that pupils frequently forget or lose their knowledge of what they have already studied. Additionally, inertia may hold back students from working hard when they return to school. Children may find it difficult and pressuring getting back on track after no revision of what they have learned for 2 or more months. Therefore, this can put teachers, including pupils, in a difficult situation. In conclusion, while holidays are essential, their downsides - like inertia and forgetfulness - have far-reaching consequences. I strongly believe that shortening the breaks by 2 weeks should balance the pros and cons of this issue.