Students should choose a university that prepares them for high-paying careers. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Numerous factors play a role in the selection of a career path, whether to choose a profession with a lot of financial rewards or to go for a sector where one ’s interest resides. Some advocates that undergraduates should choose a field with high cash return, however, I strongly disagree with that belief and this essay will outline why. The prime factor to choose a profession should depend on what each likes and what they are passionate about. Even though some sectors look lucrative and pay fat salaries, it can become boring and monotonous if one doesn’t enjoy what he does. One spends a significant amount of time at work than any other place, if work does not excite him/her it will lead to frustration and other issues. Numerous studies have consistently found that those who have excelled in their career are the ones who worked for what they strongly believed & passionate about. Although high-paying career plans look tempting, in long term success resides with the one who chooses passion and interest over cash. Uncertainty is another reason why one should avoid concentrating on one specific field. In the recent era where everything can change so quickly, demand for that field might reduce or not exist once an individual graduate from a high-paying career. For instance, Thousands graduated in 2002 with major in computer language “C+”, however, by that time new computer languages were invented and knowledge of “C+” computer language was obsolete. Furthermore, over-supply is another aspect that may ruin the plan of choosing a career which ends up making a lot of money. Numerous undergrad may choose the same stream of education and enters the market at a similar time which may create high competition within them. To Conclude, It’s safe to assume that choosing a career should not be based on only monetary rewards as it has many pitfalls. I believe that personal interest and desire should play a key role over money in choosing the right career path.