Some people think the role of parents is to discipline their children and teach them about right and wrong. Other people consider that the main responsibility of parents is to nurture their children and provide them a Safe environment to grow up in. Discuss both sides and give your opinion?

Some group of people believe that parents are ought to discipline their children and educate them about right and wrong. Other groups of people keen to believe that parents raising children and giving them a safe space to grow up is their primary responsibility. In my opinion, the most important role of parents’ is to nurture their children and give them a safe space to grow up. On the one hand, parents giving advice to their children and disciplining them can be beneficial for some reasons. Firstly, it protects children to some degree, as parents are more experienced in life and they foresee the troubles their children can have. Secondly, for example, disciplining children may have a benefit of shaping their character to be more well-mannered since their parents always fix their flaws in their behaviour. On the other hand, parents should focus mainly on the upbringing of their children and create safe conditions for them to live in. Parents disciplining their children can easily turn into being controlling towards their children and it is more harmful than beneficial. Children want to have a feeling of independence and being told by parents what to do or being pointed out their flaws can have a negative effect on them since there is a chance for them to feel controlled and they can have a sense that they are flawed. To conclude, while I admit that parents’ guidance and them giving direction to their children is important, however, I firmly believe that parents’ principal responsibility is to take care of their children and let them learn from their own experiences.