In some countries, small central shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Over the past few years, the focus of urban planning has been how to address overpopulation. To this end, one of the measures is to relocate businesses in urban areas, which has resulted in bigger stores on the outskirts replacing smaller ones clustered in city centers. This move, however, raises two concerns, namely the closure of small stores in urban centers and a potential increase in car use as more people need access to suburban shopping. While these concerns are valid, | believe the advantages of having shops away from town centers far outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, a growing preference for large stores in the suburbs could cause a few problems. First, small shops in the center of town may struggle to survive. Properties in the city command a premium, which directly eats into shop owners’ margins and makes it difficult for them to compete with stores situated further away where rent is only a fraction of what it typically is in central locations. Second, some speculate that the desire to shop at suburban stores could prompt citizens to buy their own cars, which could exacerbate congestion and, by extension, air pollution. On the other hand, although the scenarios described above indeed look bleak, I am convinced that consumers wanting to shop at stores outside of town should be viewed as a welcome development. While it may cause smaller stores to go out of business, the huge number of jobs that larger shops can create more than makes up for this. Furthermore, congestion in cities today is rife and parking spaces are scarcer than ever before, which means if people continue to shop in these areas, there will be no hope of improving the traffic situation here. Although a rise in car ownership technically could happen as a result of shoppers wanting easy access to out-of-town stores, this possibility is far-fetched at' best. Cars are prohibitively expensive, and it is hard to believe that consumers can justify the costs of owning a private vehicle just so that they can go shopping, not to mention how developed public transport has become which also renders buying a cor redundant. In conclusion, while there may be some immediate setbacks to people being drawn to shopping options outside the city, I would argue that the upside of this trend is far more significant.