Nowadays more and more women choose to work full-time. Is it a positive or negative development?

Women who prefer working full-time increase day-by-day. While being a full-time female worker can have some drawbacks, I firmly believe that this trend is a completely positive change. First and foremost, considering the gender equality, it is very vital for women to have a right to be a full-time worker, by earning the same amount of money as men, which can lead to gaining economical independence over their opponents. Researches show that when females make as much as men, they become more self-confident and express their opinions more easily, by increasing their involvement in family decision-making. Furthermore, the working of women can decrease the financial burden of their male relatives. Generally speaking, the stereotype that only men should work in families has a negative impact not only for females but also for males who struggle for being only a breadwinner in the family. Secondly, when women worked part-time or were housewives, the whole household responsibility and childcare was on women’s shoulders. While in most developing countries, women still shoulder the triple burden of care for children, household tasks and full-time work, the sharing of all tasks and childcare should be divided between men and women. It will not only relieve the burden on women by increasing their spare time for their self-development and social life but also increase responsibilities of men as a father thereby having a positive impact on bond between a child and a father. In conclusion, women should have the same right as men regards to the employment, thus, divide their duties of a family equally, with both easing financial strain on men and relieving burdensome tasks over women.