The restoration of old buildings in major cities around the world costs enormous amounts of money. This money would be better spent on providing new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many countries around the globe spent an enormous amount of money on the reconstruction of old buildings. While a majority of people claim that the means should be directed to an enhancement of roads and housing, I disagree that the issue of old states is less important because of some reasons. To begin with, the main reason for my disagreement is that, old buildings are able to provide the history of a particular country. In other words, they indicate the long story of countries origine and their ancestral values which were changed over the generations. Armenia, in fact, has a long term history and it is important that our government preserve the old buildings as a valuable artefact. However, some of our buildings in Gyumri still undergo the recovery procedure, which starts in 1977 after the accident of Spitak's earthquake. Nevertheless, the Gyumri is considered to be the most picturesque city in Armenia with the quite extraordinary combination of modern and old buildings. On the other hand, the old buildings and sights are the prime way of tourist attraction as well. The overwhelming majority of visitors, therefore, go to sightseeing in order to face the beauty of old buildings in ancient countries like Spain, Rome and Italy, where the art of architecture has never forgotten but is also intensively increased. Furthermore, the old buildings with renowned names like Temples of Garni or Tatev captivate millions of tourists every year. Subsequently, it is not suprising that countries focus on making a great investment rather on reconstruction processes of old buildings than on roads or houses. Thus, the importance of old buildings may never disappear. To conclude, Although some constructions may seem outdated, they obviously have their contribution to countries' comprehensive development.