Nowadays,many people choose to be self-employed, than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self employed?

In this contemporary world, the business has attracted almost everyone.Most of the people have now decided to run their own business than to work for a private firm or an organisation. This essay will state the positive aspects of being self-employed and its possible drawbacks. Some major advantages of doing your own work are to earn more money and to gain job satisfaction. First of all,it is often thought by people that they are not being paid the right amount of money in the company in which they are working, so they decide to start their own business. For instance, a person who runs his own business or is self-employed tends to earn more than people who perform the same job in some other organisation. Secondly, nowadays companies have made it a trend to make employees work late without any extra pay or reward and often the credit for this work are snatched by senior managers or leaders in the firm. This diminishes the morale of some individuals who in spite of being highly qualified,are not given the honour or credit for their work, which they highly deserve. In contrast,doing your own work will give a sense of job satisfaction. The prime disadvantage of being self-employed is that sometimes it requires huge capital and resources.Nowadays, along with the increasing population, the prices of commodities,goods and services has also increased dramatically. This forces people to take huge amounts of loan to start a business and it becomes a liability for them for the rest of their life. Moreover,if the company undergoes a loss, it causes tension and anxiety among the individuals. For instance,a recent report from the WHO states that 31% of people in England, who are self-employed, are more prone to mental disorders such as stress. To conclude, the desire for more money and satisfying life could be the reason for people running their own business whereas an increase in stress is a major drawback of being self-employed.