In the future it may be necessary for us to live on another planets. For this reason, some people believe that we should spend money now researching planets that could be a possible home, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Living in a different world may be the only way out for humans in the future, as natural resources are constantly disappearing. A group of people really believe that more investments are needed to study the possibilities of human life on other planets. I agree that funding is necessary for further research on the continuity of human life outside of Earth, however, the main focus should be on keeping our world healthy. Nowadays, it is considered by some that investing money in the discovery of a habitable planet is the salvation for humanity and, therefore, people will have an escape plan from the earth if any collapse happens. This means that the main focus of governments should be to raise funds to find any new planet that could harbor humans in the future. It is clear that an alternative plan to save our species is considered valuable, as the Earth is facing some environmental crises, such as global warming, large-scale deforestation and fewer fossil fuel reserves. Thus, people need a clear and safe way out if our home planet is not going to support human activity in the future. On the other hand, investing more funds in research to find planets where humans can live will cause less investment in how to keep our planet safe and habitable. If the scientists responsible for finding solutions to keep the Earth a sustainable place for people and other species do not receive enough money to develop and test ideas against the collapse of the Earth, they will not be able to save our home. This would lead to the death of most people on Earth due to the lack of natural resources, such as drinking water, breathable air and vegetables. Therefore, in addition to the importance of investing more money in studies to find alternative habitable planets, I believe that more money should be spent on saving the Earth. In conclusion, increasing the amount of capital invested in discovering habitable planets is not the best alternative. I agree that we need to invest funds in research on how to live outside the globe, however, the biggest funding should be in studies that help to prevent our world from becoming habitable.