Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities around thw world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you thing this statement is? What measures can governments takes to disocurage people from using their cars?

The number of car owners has raised at an alarming rate in the last three decades which has caused uncountable traffic congestion in most cities. This essay will examine the reasons why this is happening and then offer some solutions to this problem. The main reason for the increase in car ownership is that the raise population. It is known that more and more people have been born in the last decades, however, the human being is also living longer due to their healthy lifestyle which means that we will be surely facing overpopulation in the next years. For example, countries such as China, India, Brazil and The United States has demonstrated that the number of its citizens do not stop raising in the last decades in comparison to the '50s. At large, to cope with traffic congestion, governments should improve public transports. As the number of population has increased the State should subsidy improvements in public transportation. Thus, if they provide a better service, the traffic jam in the streets of each metropolis would be alleviated. For instance, citizens would rather use public transports instead of wearing out their own vehicles owing to the fact that it is faster, cheaper and more convenient which definitely would be considered as their first option especially when commuting on regular bases. In conclusion, traffic congestion has turned one of the most difficulties problems to be managed in the biggest cities in the world due to unavoidable overpopulation. Thereby, the major solution to cope with this downside could be that the governments to focus on public transports by funding them which would bring about people's preference to use it instead of their private cars.