Some people believe the purpose of education is to prepare people to be useful members for society. Others say that the purpose of education is to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some advocate that education should serve to guide citizens to become good ones, others state that supporting people to meet their own passion is the main drive. Before forming any opinions, I delve into both approaches in the below paragraphs. There is a popular belief that education’s main drive is to provide knowledge and train skills so the countries can have good citizens. More precisely, it prepares us to not only become moral people but also teach us how to gain skills to work, earn money and even have excess assets. In my opinion, it is true on all levels. In fact, all countries need the young workforce to maintain the economy and moral generations to be peaceful. If the educations in any country fail to achieve this point, the country will have to suffer through hardship periods. Taking Vietnam as an example, a hundred years ago, they only let children work and refused to access to education after wars. After a decade, people died of hunger since young generations did not have any solutions for drought periods. Nowadays, it is popular to see young people in developed countries perceive learning as a mean to attain their own aims. In my viewpoints, this standpoint does not contradict with the above one, yet it set young people to a higher level when they already have stable lives. In fact, learning to become a useful member should be the first and foremost reason. Then, at the same time, the young want to fulfil themselves by learning how to do what they are passionate about, and this is the basic human right. For instance, Australian universities are always opened and suggest their citizens combine the units in their favours. This could help an Art student know how to do business at the same time when she graduates the bachelor. In conclusion, it does not matter what education serves for, both preparing for valuable citizens or attaining personal aims are important. From my perspective, we should keep all of them in the list of reason when we educate the youth.