Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skills. What are the causes? Suggest possible solutions. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

A number of recruiters have acknowledged that their staff do not have sufficient skills in interaction and cooperation. In this essay, I will discuss two main culprits underlying this phenomenon and propose some feasible solutions to remedy it. There are two main reasons that explain the lack of interpersonal skills in employees. The primary reason is the overdependence of young people on the Internet and other technological communication devices. When young people rely heavily on their phones and use communicative apps like Skype, Facebook or Whatsapp to chat with their peers, they will be more likely to find it uncomfortable or difficult to talk in person with their friends, thus lowering their ability to cooperate in the workplace after graduation. Another reason is that schools place too much emphasis on learning academic knowledge or preparing for exams while neglecting the interpersonal development of students. Consequently, students must spend most of their time revising learning materials and do not have enough time to socialize with their classmates. As a result, their collaboration skills when they enter the workforce would decrease. Solutions to this problem will probably involve parents and school working together to promote cooperative activities for youngsters. In the first place, parents should encourage their children to engage more in social activities rather than being glued to their phones or computers. As a result, by socialising with their friends in a team setting, they will improve their ability to cooperate more effectively with others. In addition, schools and universities should reduce the academic rigour of their curricula and incorporate other activities, such as group discussion and team-based assignments. This will provide students with the opportunity to practice and hone their communication skills. In conclusion, the excessive use of the Internet and the focus of schools on academic training are two key reasons for the declining of social skills of new hires. Solutions to alleviate this problem could include promoting external activities among children and revamp a cademic program in a more team-oriented manner.