Some people think that illegal Internet downloads are having a negative effect on the music industry. Others feel that they have little or no impact on artists. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The music industry has been dying over the past few decades. While some people believe that this effect is due to the illegal music downloads over the internet, others advocate that music artists do not get affected by the people who obtain their products illegally. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and my support for the latter view. A conventional music track takes plenty of hard work and a plethora of money for its production. However, due to unauthorized downloads and unsold copies in the market, the producer remains unable to gather much profit out of it. As a result, the music industry is facing a decline by being unable to produce effective and worth listening tracks. A recent survey by T-Series Entertainment suggested that the music producers are facing almost 29% loss from their productions due to unauthorized internet downloading. To cover these losses, the producers are left with no option other than cost-cutting by investing less money to produce precious tracks. However, the music artists usually get their complete cut to sing the songs irrespective of the income generated out of the track. On the other hand, music artists usually don’t rely on singing tracks for their income, rather they earn a huge portion of their income by performing the songs in parties and concerts. Moreover, the advertisement industries and endorsement agencies also take part in income generations for music artists. For instance, a well-known singer in India revealed his breakup of income for the year 2019, and the most part of it constituted inflow from brand endorsements and concerts. Therefore, it can be said that the importance of track being famous is more crucial for the artist, rather than the profit generated out of it. To sum up, the music industry gets affected by illegal downloads as the producers are unable to generate effective income from the sold copies, however, the artists usually rely on other factors like advertisements and parties to generate their income. In my opinion, the cyber-crime authorities should become active in eradicating the feasibility for internet users to download music tracks free of cost.