The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In recent years, the proportion of children who are struggling with overweight problems has grown dramatically in the last decade in Western countries. This essay will expose the causes and effects of this trend. The internet, the TV and the videogames are key factors influencing children to gain weight. Firstly, the internet has made children to stay longer time indoor, by using their computers or phones. This has made children be less active, staying all day long indoors. Secondly, the TV plays a crucial role in the way children eat. Most of the time, fast food and drinks with high sugar content are advertised on TV, which might encourage children to eat junk food, without being aware of the consequences involved. Lastly, it has been proved that children who play videogames are more likely to be overweight because alike the internet, videogames glue children to a console or device the whole day. These factors cause significant effects on children health and well-being. Children who are overweight are expected to deal with many health problems in later life. Once they become adults, they have a high probability of developing some heart diseases and some knee injuries because of their weight. In the worse scenario, they can even die at an early age as a result of these bad habits. For instance, a recent study has also shown a significant increase in young people dying because of obesity problems. In addition, from the economic perspective, the effects of this trend might not be convenient for the government as they might have to inject more money for the treatment of the diseases caused by the overweight. In conclusion, we are still surrounded by many factors that increase the percentage of overweight children. I believe that if we do not put limits to these factors or at least control them, the number of overweight children might eventually double in the future, bringing more drawbacks to society.