Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstance of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that there should be fixed punishment in-accordance with each kind of evil, while others claim that the circumstances and its motives should be analysed before deciding the punishment. Personally, I think that fixed punishments are more effective than deciding punishment after analysing the violation. First of all, it is generally believed that the would-be criminals will have to think twice before doing lawlessness if the punishments are fixed. In other words, these types of system will definitely bring some awareness between the people. One clear example is a fine that makes an individual alert of following the different laws such as traffic rules while driving. In my experience, fixed punishments are more effective as well as efficient in terms of criminal activities. Therefore, the government should be more focused on strict regulation of those laws and policies. On the other hand, people who oppose this view feel that punishment should be based on circumstances of an individual crime and motivation which means that sometimes an innocent person may be punished without any reasons. The fact that is concluded by the police station is that many normal citizens are thrashed by the police because of not knowing the real fact purpose of the crime. For this reason, some people want this sort of system to be followed for social justice. Taking everything into consideration, it is clear that fixed punishment will aware an individual of not performing crime, whereas another view will save an innocent citizen. Therefore, I strongly believe that the government should implement a fixed punishment system.