It is important for cities to have large public spaces such as squares and public parks. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The modern era of humanity has led to an exponential expansion of cities all over the world, which questions the necessity of public places at the expense of valuable land resources. I agree these places have brought about a lot of benefits, however; there still are some subtle drawbacks that slip unnoticed if ill managed. First and foremost, outdoor environments can serve as a hub for social events, which would eventually boost sociability among citizens. It can be widely seen on social platforms such as Youtube that public streets and squares have become free venues for social activities, including dancing stages for youngsters, festivals and count-down on special holidays. Moreover, being exposed to a predominantly natural setting can inject a pleasurable sensation into those caught up with preoccupations. An ample number of studies have shown that close contact with nature can effectively improve one’s moods, helping him to steer clear of negative emotions resulting from pressure from the modern world’s rat race. Such benefits in terms of mental health have clearly justified the prime importance of public places in city contexts. On the other hands, these places only take effects if they are well-managed, otherwise they would pose a threat to public safety. In other words, given free access, vulnerable groups of people including children and the elderly may fall victim to those with bad intents such as pick-pocketers and robbers. In addition, lack of regular supervision may lead to the risk of vandalism, which would in turn require more resources on guardians. Furthermore, since green elements such as trees and flowers are an essential feature of such places, they require periodic care in order to serve their viabilities, which may impose burden from the maintenance cost. Additionally, given the context of a deeply-entrenched concern about the scarcity of land resources due to rapid urbanization and population explosion, the priority is given to public services with more immediate and tangible effects such as hospitals, schools and offices rather than parks and squares whose benefits require more time to manifest. In conclusion, notwithstanding the above-mentioned underlying setbacks, open-air space is an asset to any urban entities thanks to its contributions to the public’s improved state of well-being. Therefore, for the best possible results achieved, there should be a great emphasis placed on well-rounded and thorough management of these places.