As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that car users should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Given the context of the proliferation of cars in today’s world, it raises a question of whose responsibility it is to pay for upgrading road systems. Some argue that car owners are responsible for the cost; however, I believe that it is the government who is financially and politically powerful enough to make significant changes. It is understandable why some think that private car owners should cover the cost of maintaining and repairing the traffic infrastructure. The rise in car ownership has gone in tandem with major roads being subject to degradation due to prolonged physical pressure from overload vehicles, which may in turn lead to the emergence of potholes as a safety hazard to road users. However, if we stand the views of car drivers, this imposement would seem too unfair for them. Since there is no scientific paper or official reports of how damaging their vehicles are to the roads as public assets, it would be a great challenge for anyone who makes an attempt to hold this group of people accountable. Therefore, the idea of forcing them to cover the cost of road maintenance seems fairly unrealistic. Nevertheless, if the government is under this financial obligation, the case is much less of a gridlock. First, since the government has already introduced tax schemes running the country, their national citizens are inarguably the beneficiaries from road infrastructure subsidized by their tax payments. It seems of a common sense that maintaining safe traffic by upgrading roads is one of the government ’s obligations. If the public, including car owners are asked to cover such costs, this would not only sound absurd to some extent, but also trigger social unrest. Second, only the government possesses manpower and financial resources necessary for actually making a difference on a massive scale. If individuals have to pay extra for keeping the roads in a good condition, this would give rise to more managing tasks for leaders since they have to compose and pass a new bill, employ staff to administer such extra tax money, let alone this process may take ages to enforce due to people being reluctant to observe the new law. Therefore, a top-down approach to tackle the decline of roads’ quality should sound more feasible. In conclusion, there are still some justifications for making car owners the payers for roads improvement; however, I believe that only the authorities can make this process possible and meaningful since they have the resource and power necessary for it.