Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people ate only the local food produced by farmers. 🔸To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The consumer market is as wide as the world, hence different perishable products are available to anyone regardless of boundaries. There is a strong argument that if people start to consume locally made foods, it would be beneficial to both the environment and the nation's wealth. I completely agree with this view because it will help to plunge the air pollution and brings prosperity to the nation, especially to the countryside. It is an undeniable fact that consumption of local products over international food stocks will reduce the nitrogen oxide (NOx) contents in the atmosphere that could cause a profound impact on the balance of the mother nature. This is due to the fact that usually international trades happen by seaway, and this mode of transport has a vital role in the emission of the nitrogen gas. For example, a study by the International Chamber for Environment Protection showed that seaway transport is the reason for 35-40% of the air pollution caused by NOx. As a result, major environmental hazards may occur in the future. Moreover, promoting locally made food products than foreign ones will help poor farmers to live a better life. They are the ones who are earning below the average daily wages. Buying products from them has dual benefits. First one is they will have a stable income, and the other one is cash will flow inside the country only. Consequently, the government can eliminate the burden of heavy import tax. the Netherlands is the best example to quote because they pay zero amount as import duty for perishable good because all the items they produce their own. In conclusion, when it comes to food, every individual ought to prefer locally stocks than the international produce because in this way we are helping both the country and the rural villages to be in prosperity.