Some people think the most important skill nurses should have is having good medical knowledge. Others believe there are other more important qualities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has been an issue of debate that what qualities are crucial for a health practitioner. While some people claim that the proper knowledge of the medical field or their position and their respective duties is more important to be a nurse, I believe that along with it they should also have some other significant skills such as empathy and good communication skills which could complement their role. this essay will elucidate both these notions along with my perspective as well. On the one hand, the details about the anatomy and medical treatment are the basis of the job of any nurse for which they hire. Since without any proper and detailed information, they would not be able to assist the patient and doctor as well. In a recent survey, for instance, conducted in the UK has shown that in hospitals the heath-care workers have the experience to work with different doctors and with the time they acquire all intelligence and become able to treat the patients by themselves and even they can sort out the issues of the majority of patients by themselves as well. Thus, field related particulars are vital for any job field. On the other hand, I opine that alongside this huge knowledge of their medical ground they must possess some other useful qualities be it empathy or communication. Since in hospitals, it is extremely hard to handle patients and be patient with them all the time and provide them with required treatment, an assistant should have empath and concern with the patients and listens to them carefully when needed. Moreover, they should have the finest skill of communication with their patient hence it will make them feel comfortable and relaxed. This has been confirmed by a recent study in the USA which has shown that knowledgeable and skilled health care assistants can help the patient in the greatest method. Therefore, they should also have such skills along with their basic knowledge. To conclude, this essay has discussed that not the pragmatic knowledge, but also there are some other helpful skills such as communication and concern towards patients is equally imperative for the job of any health care nurse.