Farming is the backbone of every country but nowadys many youngsters hesitate to enter in this profession. Why is this the case and what can be done to avoid it ?

There is no doubt that agriculture has always been a topic of debate. It is true that the majority of the youth today are preferring other occupations over cultivation for several reasons, and various measures could be taken by the government to help improve this situation. There are a variety of factors as to why farming has become an ignored profession, but one of the main reasons could be that not many incentives are provided by the government to carry out agricultural operations. In other words, proper financial aid and support are not provided to the farmers to encourage farming even in severe conditions. For example, during drought or floods, due to lack of monetary benefits, they always end up in debts losing their farmlands which discourages their following generations to give up agriculture as an occupation. The second reason is that other businesses are probed to be stable in comparison to the agricultural industry where individuals will be able to generate a stable income. Despite the causes described above, there are several actions that the government could take to persuade young people to choose agribusiness. Firstly, a simple solution would be to introduce programs where loans can be granted at low-interest rates during natural calamities which helps cultivators in monetary terms. The second measure would be to make them aware of advanced agricultural techniques which enables them to produce good quality crops and to prevent damages caused by insects. Finally, farmers should be exposed to a fair share of profits which are produced by selling their products to further prevent them from quitting farming. In conclusion, even though there are obvious reasons discouraging youngsters to take up agriculture as a profession, government actions could help tackle the problem and promote farming as a reliable source of income.