Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a common opinion that in all the levels of education, more emphasis is placed on theoretical aspects rather than practical skills. These two aspects of learning are very important and it is extremely important to find the right balance. Furthermore, a common argument is that learning institutions are an environment strictly for learning facts and other things within the syllabus and that other skills should be learnt outside. To this, we can say that it is important for both things to be taught to the right degree as we spend a huge part of our lives in the learning environment and whether we agree or not, this shapes the kinds of people we become. I fully belong to the group of people who support this common idea. It might be a misconception seeing as no research work has been carried out but unfortunately, from personal experience, I would agree that too much time was spent teaching school-related work as opposed to life skills. I went to schools that were somewhat shielded from the rest of the world, especially for university. It was pretty much a controlled environment where I did not interact a lot with the outside world. I did not learn street skills. To be fair to my university, we had several people who came in to speak on various life skills and tips on what to do afterwards. The downside of this was that we never got to practice these things within its four walls thus making it rather difficult to thrive after my university program. I would like to conclude by stating that practical skills are far too important to be overlooked by educational institutions. While I agree that family units and perhaps religious institutions have a seemingly more apparent responsibility, schools need to make a point of teaching students practical skills as they are what set people apart.