The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. They will have to spend more money than others. Do you agree or disagree to what extent

Smoking can cause numerous adverse effects on the human body. Although smokers are aware of the dreadful impact on their internal body, they still prefer to continue their atrocious habit. Consequently, it will cost ample an amount of money for medical management. I strongly agree that smokers will have to pay more than non-smokers for hospital care as they tend to get more sick as compared to others. Since the discovery of tobacco, people were aware of the complications and direct injuries to the lungs. Also, the media and the governments around the globe, have commenced necessary precautions to enlighten the population about the side effects of cigarettes. For example, Sri Lankan health ministry allocates a tremendous amount of monetary funds to continue the anti-smoking campaign and to inform the public about the complications of smoking. However, despite the vigorous attempts initiated by the local authorities, people still opt to smoke without considering the additional expenditure on medical care. It is evident, that smoking is associated with multiple diseases. Furthermore, nicotine can precipitate certain cardiac diseases and can result in increased morbidity. For instance, recent research reveals tobacco is responsible for i ncreased prevalence of myocardial infarction among young smokers. Therefore, the skyrocketing incidence of diseases among smokers can result in raised expenditure among smokers as compared to the general public. In conclusion, smokers are more prone to diseases than others. They will continue their use of tobacco and other substance, knowing the repercussions. Eventually, they will spend a lot more than others to maintain their well-being because they are vulnerable to a myriad of diseases.