In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is important to consider the impact of the developed countries’ life expectancy that will have on both citizens and their societies. This essay will discuss some of the problems which may arise and then will propose some solutions to mitigate those issues. In regard to individuals, one of the main issues likely to be the cost of living. It is because while people live more their life out in their pensions so they will rely upon families for more financial support. For instance, if a person starts working at 20 and be retired on 60 and then be up to 100, they have just made money for two- fifths of their entire lives. To deal with this problem, governments should increase the age of retirement. In doing so, people will be prepared to cover the cost of their extended lives. As for societies, one of the paramount problems following by greater societies’ life span is unemployment. Referring to the aforementioned solution if the raising age of retirement is implemented, then there will be more and more people in work and consequently, there is less chance for younger people who are seeking for a break into professions. Tackling this dilemma involves government investing in new technologies in order to create new fields of work. With new technologies appears new jobs that can be employed potential workforce. In conclusion, two of the main issues resulted from the developed societies’ longer living, are financial matters and unemployment. However, those problems can be resolved if the government raise the age of retirement and fund more on new technologies.