Some believe that charitable organisations should help people no matter where they live. Others argue that charities should only help those living in the country where the charity is based. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the past few years, there has been evident growth in the provision of charity for needy. While most of the people advocate that anyone can receive a charity irrespective of the location of the provider, others believe that the charity foundations should give priority to the local residents. This essay will discuss both arguments and my support for the latter viewpoint. In most cases, a charitable organization receives donations from a plethora of donors. As a result, the received value overweighs the amount of charity distributed by the organization. This unbalance can support the needy people of other countries, where there are not enough sources of charity. For instance, Malinga and Gates foundation donate 70% of their charity in other countries and 30% inside the U.S.A. This is because people in other countries are needier than those who live in the U.S.A. Moreover, this trend highlights the organization in the world which in turn helps in bringing more donations from other countries. On the other hand, there are some countries that have very less to no charitable institutions. In those countries, these institutions need to satisfy the needs of their local people rather than supporting the nationals of other countries. This will result in a declination of the rich to poor ratio and may contribute as a factor towards prosperity in the country. According to research conducted by Being Human foundation, the poor and needy people comprise 70% of the entire population of India. In cases like this, the organizations should provide to their countrymen and thus avoid sending charity and donations to other countries. In conclusion, spending charity on the people of other country is a wise move, however, in my opinion, the charitable organizations should help the people in their own countries first until the need of poor people is satisfied, and then send the donations to the other countries.