The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both of the views and give your own opinion

It is widely believed that new ways of communication are available for us since the internet was created. Some people support the idea of us interacting through social media, whereas others consider this as something wrong. This essay will discuss both of these view and will provide my personal opinion. On the one hand, social media have made a significant contribution to the way we communicate. Before, people were not able to interact properly with those who were far away or overseas, whereas now, because of the internet, they can talk and see each other throughout a videocall, regardless the distance. Also, it has played a crucial role in people' well-being during pandemic time as it provides us witha way to communicate while we are under lockdown and quarantine. Moreover, social media platforms provide people with a new way to interact and make new friends and even seek for a partner. Indeed, some studies conducted in America have shown that people are more likely to find a partner in social media than in the real life. On the other hand, there are some negative outcomes when we communicate throughout social media. Firstly, some people use social media as a way to commit crimes and blackmailing. There has been a massive increase in the creation of fake profiles on Facebook and therefore, more people are kidnapped throught it, and in the worse scenario, many inocent children and women are murdered. In addition, many crimes happen in social media, as it can not be fully controlled by the government and therefore, it is quite esay for people to steal, make crimes and fraud. In conclusion, although social media has brought many advantages to society, it is still a great risk. Numbers are soaring and the rate of crimes and issues happening in social media are escalating. I believe that social media should be followed closely by the government to avoid these things to happen.