Many people believe that modern music can have a negative impact on the young. Others believe the effect of modern music is positive. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

A commonly held belief is that music of the 21st century is harmful to children due to its lyrics and negative messages. However, there is an opposing argument which claims that music can have a positive influence over the new generation. In this essay, I am going to elaborate on both opinions and show why I approve modern music. To begin with, it is well-known that music has always had a powerful impact. Since ancient times it has been changing the way people think. Older people still consider present-day songs being detrimental for a child to listen to them. This is because composers and songwriters include too much violence and other inappropriate behaviours in their lyrics in the recent decade. For instance, nowadays rap genre is not what it used to be. It is full of swearing, violent language and most importantly - using narcotics. Consequently, some youngsters can be influenced by this genre which is harmful to them. On the other hand, we cannot neglect the significant