Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is one of the major issues of debate among people that we get the things that we are really not required due to the inspiration given us to by the advertisements. I totally agree with the statement. Although the advertisements give us an idea about the availability of the newly arrived products in the market. Firstly, in my opinion, the advertisement companies, while promoting the products, create the types of advertisements that attract the viewers to buy the products that are not in much of their requirement. They research the prospective buyers in the market and create the ads with the emotional sentiments of the consumers. For Instance, they display the ads on the televisions, according to the viewers of the show, if the show is daily soap, which is majorly seen by the housewives in India, they display the kind of commercials, that are related to their daily requirement, like cooking related items, household appliances, which motivates them to purchase those items. Secondly, If we visit the big departmental stores like Big Bazaar, Reliance Fresh. We see the arrangement of the products in the manner, that consumers while looking for items of their requirement end up buying the products due to the display strategy of the stores. It is also one of the hidden advertising strategies that are followed in the advertisement sector. In conclusion, I would say, it is good to go through the advertisements that bring us knowledge about the newly available products in the market. But it is the responsibility of the customers to buy the thing only of their requirement.