Many people believe that riding a bicycle is still the way to get to places. What are the advantages and disadvantages to using a bicycle nowadays?

Apart from all the fastest and luxurious mode of transportation, some people still prefer a bike to travel in the city. Riding a bike to somewhere is always a good option as it helps maintain one’s energy and more beneficial to the surrounding climate, however, it is not a perfect option as it takes a lot of time and sometimes it is not safe on highways or congested roads. Bicycle is not only beneficial to an individual's health but it also serves a collective purpose by reducing the carbon footprint and aid in environment conservation of the country. Any mode of transportation requires energy to function, in case of a bicycle, it requires continuous peddling from the person who is riding it, this aids in the person’s overall health as it is the best exercise for the heart and as it does not use fossil fuel as the source of energy, thus it emits zero noxious gases into the environment unlike other modes of transportation. The people of Bhutan are the best example as they use a bicycle for short distances to preserve their health and environment of the country. On the contrary, cycling is not the best and a safe option when it comes to travel long distances in short duration. The safety feature for an individual riding a bicycle is very limited furthermore, it takes a longer duration to reach the destination which is not feasible for an individual to use on daily basis. A traffic study conducted by the government states that about 62% of the bicycle riders met with a minor accident on roads in a day. Thus, the merits of using a bicycle as a mode of transport outweigh the demerits, if the government can promote the use of non-motorized transport like cycling by providing dedicated infrastructure which will not only reduce life hazard but can also help in the reduction of travel time.