In most countries, there is an age limit at which people are permitted to drive but no age limit for drivers. Some experts have proposed that drivers be aged between 20 to 70. Why they have proposed that? What are the drawbacks of this proposal?

Permission to drive is a notable advantage for allowing people to achieve more autonomy. While it is essential to establish an age limit for someone starts to drive, there is no limit age to stop. The proposal from some experts to restrict this permission to 70 years old has its reasons, however, there are also negative consequences. To start with the reasons, aged people usually will suffer from physical losses that are capable of creating dangerous situations for them and other drivers. For instance, loss of a perfect vision and a slower motor reflex may delay any needed and fast action during an unexpected accident. They might not see traffic signals on time or have a fast response to stop the car. Another important procedure for drivers is to update their knowledge of new traffic rules and capacity of driving safely. It is common that permitted drivers do not need to reattend to driving school to keep their permission. This also can provoke serious damage. For example, the use of the security belt is a recent obligation for some older drivers that can still be out there without it because of the lack of habit. However, there are withdraws with this proposal. Driving offers autonomy and the population keeps growing older. Holding back this right may force aged people to depend on the younger to ride them. Nevertheless, this is also a prejudice against older people, since there is a great amount of them with good physical capacities to keep driving by themselves. Moreover, there are more experienced than those that just started to drive and the traffic is safer with them. To sum up, although there are reasonable motives to keep aged people from driving, there should be better ways to determine who should or could keep their license as long as they can use it securely.