In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

It is argued if it is more relevant to protect the countryside instead of building new homes there to those who need it, even being the only available space. This essay believes the countryside should be occupied in order to provide minimal conditions for every individual and its family to live in. Firstly, the main reason why I think new homes should be built in the countryside since it is the only place available in many countries, is that any government must provide to every human being a safe place to at least fulfilling its basic needs, such as eat and sleep, allowing them to be productive in the society. So, if the urban areas are saturated, then there is no other way than occupy the countryside. To illustrate, back in the 90s, the urban area of São Paulo, in Brazil, was reaching its full capacity, and the illness and criminal rates were raised at a dangerous speed. To resolve the problem, the government installed facilities, such as hospitals and police stations, in the countryside, to attract new residents. It was very effective since those rates decreased significantly in the next years. In addition, nowadays the advances in technologies and construction techniques allow us to protect the countryside and to build in it at the same time. Although the initial investment to use these modern features would be more expensive than the traditional ones, the long-term outcome would be fantastic. For instance, I have read this week some news about green buildings, a technique that reduces the environmental effects of the construction by 80%, and seemed pretty interesting. To conclude, I reaffirm my position that new homes should be built in the countryside, since the urban areas are overcrowded, so every person have the opportunity to live with dignity, and it does not mean that the countryside would be harmed.