Many people believe that the human society has developed into a throw-away society, which is filled with plastic bags and rubbish. People consume and they do not think about the environment.

Nowadays, people are used to consuming a lot without any concern about sustainability. This essay will explore some reasons behind this reality and will discuss different ways to tackle problems related to it. First and foremost, capitalist culture leads people to spend money on several products that they might never use. This is because companies are always trying to persuade individuals with new advantages or promises related to products. As a result, we are becoming a society composed of consumerists, and this also means that people are producing more rubbish. However, there are some solutions to these problems, governments should provide environmental education in schools, discussing consumerist habits. In this way, young people will learn how important is to reduce their product consumption. Furthermore, people are used to discarding a lot of things with a huge facility. In the same way that things are consumed, those products are discarded. By the way, a lot of companies also produce a high amount of garbage, much more than citizens produce, and this must be taken into consideration. In addition, there are many people and different corporations which deploy things improperly. As a result, we are facing huge problems related to pollution in our society. Governments should solve these problems by encouraging people to recycle and companies to develop sustainable development. In conclusion, there are many problems related to consumerism habits but they are not insurmountable. It is the government’s responsibility to solve those issues and they should begin by considering some of the solutions proposed above.