Some people consider playing sports is beneficial for schoolchildren. Some, however, believe sport activities also have some drawbacks. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of children playing sports.

Sports activities play an imperative role in the fitness and healthy lifestyle of a being. Most of the people with perfect body physique are the ones who actively take part in sports. A few individuals opine that it is crucial for students to take interest in such activities for a good physical and mental health whereas others consider it as a wastage of time and risk on both body and mind. This essay will outline the benefits and drawbacks of this viewpoint and will draw an inference. On the one hand, sports let an individual develop a number of useful skills such as teamwork, leadership, spirit and many more. Such skills are hard to imbibe only by academic studies, therefore, one should indulge their children more towards outdoor games rather than letting them play video games on technological gadgets. For instance, according to the recent survey of health officials of the United States, it has been seen that the pupils who balance their lives between studies and sports are more active physically and mentally and their rate of being successful in a career is comparatively much higher than the ones who only focus on academics. On the contrary, in some of the cases, schoolchildren who spend time while playing sports could get distracted from their studies and would become unfocused of their career goal because they engage themselves deeply into games rather than working on their education side by side. Moreover, while performing activities such as skydiving, parkour or even football, children get injured and sometimes could develop serious health issues which could be fatal in the long run. Hence, to save their children from all such problems parents force them to avoid sports activities. To recapitulate, by considering all the merits and demerits, although sports could distract youngster from their studies, however, it let them learn a myriad of useful skills which could help them to become healthy and fit both mentally and physically. Hence, its advantages outweigh its disadvantages.