In many countries, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The vast majority of food and drink corporations from all around the world have increasingly utilized plastic containers. This essay will argue the disadvantage of this outweighs the benefits. The essay will first demonstrate that improper disposable of plastic packaging and non-degradable lead to endanger the life of living things. Then it will be followed by an analysis of the primary advantages, namely lightweight and cost-effective, are not valid. A major downside of using plastic containers is that disposing of them in the wrong places would have a dreadful impact on the life of humans as well as animals. When a plastic waste clogs the waterways that most of the livestock drink from it, it conveys these waterways into a shelter of contagious diseases. A recent study made by Oxford University found that 85% of infectious bacteria such as Malaria and Typhoid came from the drains that were full of plastic items like straws and bottles. Another significant drawback, Plastic materials are difficult to be degradable as the whole process takes thousands of years. This could potentially jeopardize marine life and expose them to extinction. The Sunday Times recently reported that fishermen in china found thousands of fishes were lying dead on the beach because there were some tiny particles of plastic inside their stomachs. Those opposed to this say that plastic helps food manufactories to effectively reduce cost and easy transfer. These companies can use a small number of plastics for packaging a large number of products in comparison with other materials such as glass. Also, it does not require heavy transportation as it considers one of the lightest substances and can be easily moulded into different shapes. However, there is weak evidence to support this view and there are better substitutes of plastic that are a sustainable environment and economy. To sum up, it is often argued that plastic container has been used excessively by most of the food and drink business over the world. Despite the merits of using this component including less weight and expense, the disadvantages have been seriously exceeded these merits including the difficulty of decay as well as throwing away plastic rubbish in wrong locations.